top of page

One Pot Roasted Tomato Soup

We are in the midst of one wicked cold snap. The forecast for the next few days is in the negatives…. With a wind chill of up to NEGATIVE 45 DEGREES.

It’s days like this that make me really, really miss the sunny warm days and all that fresh goodness from the garden. Thankfully every summer I pay it forward to my future self and freeze bags and bags of garden fresh tomatoes. On days like today I take out a bag of frozen tomatoes and make my whole house smell like summer! We love hot tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches on days like this.

I’ve crafted this recipe over time and it’s got everything I love about a good recipe. Healthy and wholesome, really nutritious, and as few pots and pans as possible. WINNER

For this recipe I use my Dutch Oven. I’ve been really happy with the Lodge brand. I took a gamble on them a couple of years ago because they are not *nearly* as pricey as that other brand. No complaints and they are holding up really well.

Snow Day Tomato Soup

Preheat oven to 400

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

5 (or more) Cloves of Garlic

1 chopped onion

6 large tomatoes

Add all the above ingredients to the Dutch oven. Roast the tomatoes for 40 minutes for fresh, 60 minutes for frozen.

Take the pot out of the oven and place on stove.

Add 2 cups of veggie or chicken stock

Optional: Fresh basil if you have it.... Or 1 drop of basil essential oil (just one! Basil is strong. You can start by dipping a toothpick in your bottle and adding to taste!

Cool the soup down and then use an immersion blender to puree.

Serve with grilled cheese sandwiches for dipping.

Cool the soup down and then use an immersion blender to puree.

Serve with grilled cheese sandwiches for dipping.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page